Official Nebraska Government Website Nebraska State Historical Society

News Release
Monday, March 15, 2010

SUBJECT: Nominations to Nebraska Hall of Fame sought

The Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission, established by the Unicameral in 1961, is seeking nominations to the Nebraska Hall of Fame. The purpose of the Nebraska Hall of Fame is to bring to public attention and to recognize officially those people who, in their lives, have achieved prominence and who were outstanding Nebraskans. Nebraskans mean those who were born in Nebraska; who gained prominence while living in Nebraska, or who lived in Nebraska and whose residence in Nebraska was an important influence on their lives and which contributed to their greatness.

To be elected to the Nebraska Hall of Fame, a person shall meet the definition of a Nebraskan as set forth in the above paragraph and, second, shall have been deceased for a minimum of thirty-five (35) years.

Inductions to the Nebraska Hall of Fame are limited to one person every five (5) years.

An inductee's contributions shall normally have been made in public affairs, the arts, the sciences, the professions; secondary consideration is given to entertainment, athletics or fields of endeavor where interest, publicity and general recognition may for a time be intense, but where a contribution to society is secondary.

Activities that have added to the welfare of society and to the reputation of Nebraska shall be weighed more heavily than activities primarily benefiting the individual him/herself.

Nominations will be accepted through December 30, 2011. The Commission will review nominations and may select finalists that will then be considered at public hearings held in each congressional district, in 2012-2013. After the hearings, the Commission may select one finalist for induction in 2014.

Michael J. Smith, Director/CEO of the Nebraska State Historical Society, serves as secretary of the Commission. To request a nomination form, contact the Nebraska State Historical Society at P.O. Box 82554, Lincoln, NE 68501, or email A nomination form and other information about the Hall of Fame can be found at

Some of the 24 previously inducted, whose busts are on display on the rotunda level of the Capitol, include Ponca Chief Standing Bear, writers Mari Sandoz and Willa Cather, Nebraska's Poet Laureate John Neihardt, U.S. Senator George W. Norris, and Charles E. Bessey.

FROM: Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission
Michael J. Smith, Secretary
P.O. Box 82554
Lincoln, NE 68501

For general information:

Lynne M. Ireland
Deputy Director
Nebraska State Historical Society
PO Box 82554
Lincoln, NE 68501
402.471.4758 (v)
402-471.3100 (f)

Your Nebraska source for the histories we share.


NSHS Home  |  Search  |  Index  |  Top
Last updated 15 March 2010

For questions or comments on the website itself, email
Nebraska State Historical Society - P.O. Box 82554, 1500 R Street, Lincoln, NE 68501
Nebraska State Government Homepage
 |  Website Policies  |  © 2009 All Rights Reserved